borderless transit / borderless region



KCRTA’s vision for Kansas City is sustainable regional and local transit funding that can better connect people to opportunity.

The Kansas City Regional Transit Alliance is a non-profit organization that educates the public on transit accessibility, gathers public opinion, communicates, and advocates to expand, enhance, and improve today’s transit options. KCRTA maintains a constant dialogue with metro area public officials who ultimately bring the decisions to develop better public transportation to you. Our mission is to expand, enhance, and improve mass transit in the Kansas City region.
KCRTA central themes:

  • To broaden public understanding of and build public consensus for seamless, multi-modal regional mass transit. We are translators of the landscape on a region-wide basis.
  • To share research insights among decision makers and support innovate transit funding mechanisms. Decision makers rely on us early and often, in both technical and advisory capacities.
  • To advocate for transit, build case studies and assemble stories of people who depend on, or would utilize more, a regional transit system that would increase mobility, impact business market share, and positively influence the quality of life around broad community issues.

We believe that transit plays a key role in supporting the economy, energy independence, and a cleaner environment.


Established in 2000, the KCRTA is the only non-profit organization aggressively advocating for and educating our citizens about mass transit. Our intent is to ensure everyone recognizes the benefits of an expanded, enhanced, and improved mass transit system.

Board of Directors

  • David Johnson, Chair [email] (TransPro Consulting / Crossroads Community Association)
  • Tristin Amezcua-Hogan, Vice Chair (Kansas City Labor Beacon)
  • Josh Boehm, Secretary (WSP / Downtown Neighborhood Association)
  • Andrew Ganahl, Treasurer (AND Real Estate LLC)
  • Matt Staub, Immediate Past Chair (Proxima / River Market Community Association)
  • Manny Abarca (Jackson County Legislature)
  • Laura Burkhalter (SFS Architecture / Southmoreland Neighborhood Association)
  • Matthew Calcara (Flynn Restaurant Group / Political Consultant)
  • Sara Copeland (Burns & McDonnell)
  • Geoff Gerling (Grandview ISD Education Foundation)
  • Jared Gulbranson (WSP)
  • Logan Heley (Heartland Conservation Alliance / Overland Park City Council)
  • Lisa Mead (IBEW Local 53)
  • Nicolas “Nic” Miller (Amalgamated Transit Union, Local No. 1287)
  • Jon Moore (TranSystems)
  • Jenny Nguyen (Linda Hall Library)
  • Hanna Oliver (Sunrise Movement KC)
  • David Rowe (MetroLab Network)
  • Justin Short
  • Ben Snider (HNTB)
  • Shawn Strate (Olsson)
  • Scott Wagner (Clay County Commission)
  • Bailey Waters (City of Kansas City, Missouri)
  • Matt Webster
  • Alvaro Villgaran (Shared Use Mobility Center)
  • Bryce Shields, Ex-Officio (Kansas City Area Transportation Authority)
  • Tom Gerend, Ex-Officio (Kansas City Streetcar Authority)
  • Josh Powers, Ex-Officio (Johnson County Transit)
  • Martin Rivarola, Ex-Officio (Mid-America Regional Council)

Financial Support

KCRTA is a 501(c)3 organization that conducts itself with integrity and objectivity. We rely on the financial support of corporations, institutions, individuals, and local governments.

To make a donation to KCRTA, please click here.